Proto Shield confusion

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Graham C_*

Guest_Graham C_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 November 2014 - 10:38 PM

I'm new to Arduino and I've just made up the Proto Shield kit. The female connector for digital pins 8 upwards is displaced outwards with respect to the male connector, meaning that further shields won't fit. The diagram and pictures on the Linksprite page shows that this is intended, so have I misinterpreted something?

regards

Graham

#2 chain

chain

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 756 posts

Posted 03 November 2014 - 01:15 AM

Can you post some pictures of your Proto Shield here?

#3 chain

chain

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 756 posts

Posted 03 November 2014 - 01:17 AM

You can also refer to this page: http://linksprite.co...oto_Shield_Kits

#4 Guest_Graham C_*

Guest_Graham C_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 November 2014 - 01:01 AM

Thanks for the rapid reply. I'm not sure how to post an image on this forum, but you can see the problem on your link. Looking at the diagram labelled Interface Function: top left is the area for connectors to digital pins 8 and up. The female connector is soldered to the line of copper lands nearest the green LED; the male connector is soldered to the line of lands immediately above. The female connector is shifted slightly to the left for this pair. The male and female connectors on the other 3 pairs of connectors do line up. The photos in step 2 of the assembly tutorial show the same shift. The net result is that the male connectors successfully plug into the Arduino board but that female connector is out of alignment for stacking further boards.

#5 chain

chain

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 756 posts

Posted 05 November 2014 - 05:04 AM