Photo

[SOLVED] Building Qt5 with OpenGL ES2 and EGL (ubuntu 12.07)

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 osnwt

osnwt

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 10 January 2015 - 03:04 PM

I want to use the pcduino3 board for OpenGL ES2 applications written in Qt5 (besides of all, it allows to use OpenGL ES2 subset to build the same apps for both ARM and desktop PCs). Doing so, I tried to build Qt5 for pcduino on desktop machine. Finally I managed to make it buildable, but no OpenGL examples work, all terminate with well-known error:

EGL Error : Could not create the egl surface: error = 0x300b (EGL_BAD_NATIVE_WINDOW)

I am new in OpenGL, but AFAIK it is because I need to provide platform hooks for the device building Qt5. The problem is that I did not find a working example of such hooks file for pcduino3. Other device configs in Qt5 (5.4.0) contain "fbdev_window" type which isn't defined in installed headers. Actually, even EGL, GLES2, etc directories do not exist (I linked them to similar header directories in Qt5 source). If I install some Mesa packages, then I have them but with new libs OpenGL ES2 hardware acceleration of native driver is lost. I think that in platform hooks I should get and return the native window handle instead of fbdev_window handle to use accelerated drivers and libraries. But how do I get that if no OpenGL ES2 dev headers installed?

So the question to all: has anybody managed to build Qt5 for pcduino3 for original ubuntu image (not latest 14.10, but previous 12.07)?

I tried to search forum but qt or qt5 search words are too shot, and no search allowed for them.

• carpinteyrolkh likes this

#2 cwilt

cwilt

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,012 posts

Posted 11 January 2015 - 01:28 AM

If I can get some time I can try building qt5 as I am running the the previous ubuntu and report back to you.

#3 osnwt

osnwt

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 11 January 2015 - 01:43 AM